HMS Beagle by Robp1025 - OcCre - 1:60

So this is my first build of a legit model ship. I bought a Chinese knock off to make sure I would be into making a wooden model ship because I have done lots of car models as a kid but it's been 15 years since I did one. Either way looking forward to getting into this new hobby because I want a better outlet then video games and youtube because it's a waste of mental health. 

Either way hope everyone enjoys my log as much as I will and looking forward to sharing my experience with everyone!!

P.S. props to OcCre for an amazing model kit with such detail in the instructions. 

20210319_163721.jpg

Edited by Robp1025

Nice start! Your opening line was a bit vague, I assume you mean this is an actual OcCre kit and you built a Chinese kit before this?

9 hours ago, Cathead said:

Nice start! Your opening line was a bit vague, I assume you mean this is an actual OcCre kit and you built a Chinese kit before this?

Yes so this is the OcCre kit. I wanted to make sure I was still into models by doing the cheap Chinese kit before I invested some real money into a kit like this one. 

The picture below this is the chinese kit I started doing then stop because I got lost with the rigging and didn't know enough to be confident to do it. I'll probably finish it after I do this kit. 

20210316_224338.jpg

So I broke my first piece even though i soaked the piece pretty good. Either way i think i might start building a planking jig outta nails to bend pieces then I'll transfer them to the model especially for the more fragile pieces next time. But it's coming along and move steadily. Got all the sanding and prep done and now it's time to plank which will take some time so this build will slow down for a couple days atleast. 20210323_232222.thumb.jpg.44df886dd70dbc84387da3b4b8310dd5.jpg

This is where my broken piece was so I planked and glued everything. Then I planked and am now letting the glue settle on the fixed piece.