New Modeler, eager for advice!

I'm from East Virginia, a lover of the water and a long-time reader of nautical fiction. I'm primarily an armor modeler, but I am going into wooden ships. I have ordered several kits which I plan to finish in this order to familiarize myself with the craft:

1. Model Shipways 1/24 Grand Banks Dory
  2. Artesania Latina 1/24 Providence Whaleboat
  3. Artesania Latina 1/24 Jolly Boat from HMS Bounty
  4. Artesania Latina 1/85 Sultan Arab Dhow
  5. Artesania Latina 1/41 1819 Virginia Schooner
  6. Model Shipways 1/64 1803 Brig Syren

I am also getting the following tools:

1. Razor Saw
  2. Keel Vise
  3. Microshapers A and B from Artesania Latina
  4. Marking and Measuring Set (rulers, compass, squares)
  5. 3" Squares x2
  6. 5oz Upholsterer's Hammer
  7. Rigging tools and long-neck scissors

I already have hobby knives, files, sandpaper, various wood and CA glues, various paints, etc, all the basic modeling tools and supplies. 

I'm really looking forward to getting started, everyone here seems very knowledgeable and supportive.

My questions for more experienced modelers would be:

1. Is this a good plan to start the hobby?
  2. Am I missing any necessary/helpful tools?
  3. What is some basic advice you can give me?
Edited by Joseph F.

Welcome to MSW, Joseph.   

It would appear you have a good plan laid out for starting and progressing in the hobby.  

As for tools... go to the top of the page (the More button) and click on the database.  There's articles on getting started, tools, etc.   As for tools.  I think you're off to a good start.  Rule of thumb.... only buy tools when you need them.  If you're not sure.. ask.  Tools can be a hobby unto themselves... yes, I'm a toolholic and trying to stop.   I do note that you don't have tweezers listed.... a good set is very worthwhile.  Same for a hobby knife like an Xacto.