Le Martegaou by Ben87 - Billing Boats - 1:80 - My first wooden model ship

Hi Everyone,

as this is my very first build, please have patience with me if I do something wrong, and point it out such that I will not make that mistake again! As for the era of the ship, I bought this model because I liked the style of the ship, I loved sailing on a flat bottom ship before, so I have a preference. But the model kit does not tell me anything about the era in which it belongs. I did some research but could not find any information on it besided the model page written up by Billing Boats. The description tell me that these ships whre decomissioned when rail transport was introducted in france, therefor I chose this era to put the buildlog into.

After opening the box and reading the instructions (which isn't all that much or elaborate), I really wanted to get started.

20210330_203422.jpg.b594921b70004041e354f693eca0782a.jpg

Examaning the box content:

20210330_203520.jpg.71a07adb7711118c5b15f4a363f1a694.jpg

Everything seems to be present, looking at all the parts it looks doable for a beginner, so far I'm happy with my choice. The only thing that is annoying me a bit is the fact that you by a wooden scale model kit which has a lifeboat on its deck, but they provide you with a plastic injection mold replicate of that lifeboat... That one may have to go and might get replace with a home made version out of wood.

I wanted to make the build easy on myself so before I started putting anything together with glue I had to improvise a way to make sure the Keel and Bottomplate would be put together straight on a small scale (for normal woodworking I have special clamps for this). But some childhood goodies helped me out here. Lego is one of the few small things I have lying around that I am sure of that the angles on it are as close to 90 degrees and you can get.

20210330_212653.jpg.15f08306a30750d00296ad82fe67c0af.jpg