HMS Victory by Will Ferris - Caldercraft - 1:72

Hi All,

I just joined today after starting a build several months ago and would greatly appreciate any and all input.

Questions for everyone:

• Would one or two of you be willing to act a as mentor for this build?  Caldercraft seems to be a tad vague sometimes about when to paint what for example.
  • Does anyone have any specific suggestions regarding hull treatments before I install the copper tiles? Do I need to apply a thin hand-rubbed coat of polyurethane first?  If so, water-base or oil?
  • I found an assembly guide for copper tiling DeAgostini's kit.  They recommend using a glue from England.  (Solvent-free contact adhesive.)  What does this equate to here in the States?  I'm looking for something in stock at my local Home Depot.

Thank you Guys!

IMG_5054.JPG

IMG_5058.JPG

IMG_5062.JPG

IMG_5059.JPG

Will Ferris

Current Build:  HMS Victory 1:72 Caldercraft

Hi, Will. I have no experience with copper sheathing, so I can't help you there. One of the best ways to get mentoring is attend local club meetings. Of course, not everyone lives near a club, but you never know. Check out the list here to see if there is a club near you.

Cheers!

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix, Hawker Hurricane

The Caldercraft Tiles can be glued on easily with Thick CA glue, I used the Gorilla glue with the green top from Home Depot.  I did a light coat of water based polyurethane on the hull before applying the tiles.  If you are really unsure about it, do some off hull testing with some scraps.     

The closest thing to a mentor on this site is to look at other peoples builds (In your case Victory builds) and see what they have done.  You would be surprised what you would learn from others triumphs and mistakes.  

Thank you both!

Chris - Very cool canoe; and I'll be keeping an eye on your PWS-10 build as well.