Lowell Grand Banks Dory by lraymo - FINISHED - Model Shipways - 1:24

Ok, so this is my very first build, and here's what I've learned so far.  This is going to be harder than i thought, but surprisingly enjoyable, trying to do this.  Also, I've confirmed I am not a perfectionist!  (this could be a blessing or a curse!)

Step 1:  I thought I'd try the harder beginning, that is, gluing the 3 bottom planks together.  Apparently I took the instructions to "prepare & sand" the planks too literally, because they don't fit flush together.  Not to worry, I used an enormous amount of glue trying to get them to stick.  I tried to wipe off the excess with a brush and water, but that seemed to just water down the glue, and the pieces would not bind.  So I used isopropyl alcohol, dismantled everything, and tried again.  No such luck, but i found that if i placed the pieces together, ran a bead of glue over the top and let it sink in-between the planks, it might hold.  As you can see in the photo, although it is "holding", there is daylight between the planks!  Although catastrophic if at sea, (and I'm trying to build an "authentic" boat), I went ahead and attached the cleats (one of which is too long), just for practice.   Oh, I also found that a toothpick works well in removing excess glue.  Not sure if that's the right way to do this, but its working for me!

I've decided to call this a 'trial run" for me to practice on, and I will now use the "backup" one-piece bottom to continue (because this first try might fall apart during the rest of the build) but at least I am learning!  

Next post will hopefully show a completed step one (one-piece bottom of boat with cleats!)   
Showing my failed trial run here... (not sure why my pics are coming out upside-down!) 
1189281854_Fronthalfofbottomfloor.thumb.jpg.e96553df9df38ee857115ed57d3e480c.jpg1748129246_daylightthruplanks.thumb.jpg.d817f8006965f6f95d669dd6d206e985.jpg