Hi,

My name is Michael and I am a complete newbie at building wooden ships.

In the past I was a woodworker in several furniture shops and made Welsh Stick chairs and even made my own traditional joiners bench.

I became enamored with hand tool woodworking and hand traditional joinery.

When the time came I could no longer do this I sold off the shop and started learning antique clock restoration, which I still dabble in.

Due to some injuries and illness I am no longer able to work with larger material, so I decided to combine my love of nautical history and woodworking and start building model ships.

It will be good therapy and help with improving some hand dexterity and fine motor skills as well as an enjoyable way to spend some time which I seem to have a surplus of.

I am a former Marine and then worked in EMS as a Paramedic eventually going to Alaska and working as a Bush Medic till a career ending injury happened there.

I came back and went to finish my degree until I had to stop and take care of my dad who had Alzheimers.

I then went to work for an Industrial supply company for fifteen years till they outsourced my job, but was getting to the point where I was physically unable to do so anyway and am now going on disability.

I have already received my first kit.

After a great conversation with Model Expo I am starting with their “Shipwright” series beginning with the Lowell Grand Banks Dory.

I just about have the work space finished and am going to dive in in head first in the next few days.

I have so enjoyed reading through many threads here and have already learned much, now is the time to put it into practice.

I am looking forward to contributing here and maybe even making some new friends.

I am sure I will have a lot of questions and it seems like folks here are more than happy to help a new builder.

One caveat...as a former English Major I have a tendency to be rather wordy...so my apologies for that! 🤓