HMS Ontario by myxyzptlyk - MarisStella - 1:48

When I saw this kit released I was intrigued and thought I would give it try.   Love the subject/size. etc.       Just a bit of background.    Some of you may remember this user name from years ago on other forums.   I've been building kits for at least 20 years and have completed many.    I've got about 10 completed kits in cases distributed around the house  (large house) with the largest being the Caldercraft Victory.    I would rate my skills as moderate.        Love building models of all types but ships hold a special place.    Also pretty much stick with the kit and almost no modifying/bashing.

IMG_7336.JPG

IMG_7335.JPG

IMG_7337.JPG

IMG_7339.JPG

IMG_7340.JPG

IMG_7341.JPG

IMG_7345.JPG

IMG_7346.JPG

I tend to work on models as I feel the urge.    At 70 years old and with so many ships completed I do have issues with space.  Also I am still working full time so modeling time is somewhat limite.     And with so many great kits out there and coming out I have decided that I am going to only complete the hulls of the ships and put those in cases.    I never found the rigging of these ships to be a particular challenge.   So with the years left to me I'll be limiting myself to just the hulls.      I've got a number of kits on the shelf and am really looking forward to the next Vanguard kit of the Sphinx.     Also have the old Amati HMS Prince (mint in box) that will probably be my 3rd kit after the Vanguard one.     That Amati Prince will be the second time I have built it.    FIrst time was about 20 years ago in my early modeling days.    

Very interested in following along, this subject and kit doesn't seem to pop up too often.

Cheers,

Jason

"Which it will be ready when it is ready!"

In the shipyard:

HMS Jason (c.1794: Artois Class 38 gun frigate)

Queen Anne Royal Barge (c.1700)

Finished:

HMS Snake (c.1797: Cruizer Class, ship rigged sloop)