Providence by Eurus - FINISHED - Artesania Latina - 1:25 - whaleboat

Hello, and welcome to my first build log in the MSW forums.

This is a kit from the Spanish manufacturer Artesanía Latina. It is labeled as suitable for beginners, however, there are several details that increase the difficulty somewhat, mainly because of omissions or lack of clarity in the instructions. It is not too complex to build, but I still would not recommend it to a total noobie, unless they already have some experience with other kits—like plastic—or wood working in general. Some familiarity with nautical terms will surely help.

I bought it from Amazon USA in 2018, but apparently all Artesanía Latina kits have become scarcer since. I picked it up for two main reasons: I wanted to practice my technique with something easy and cheap that I wouldn't mind too much if I botched something, and my love for 1800-era ships and the whaling industry in general.

Since I have some experience with other engineering, hobby and DIY house projects, I already had most of the necessary tools and instruments.

Without further ado, this is what happened:

1563005085_ProvidenceLog01.JPG.444881b73da770a1d27b2d3851255338.JPG

I will refer to the small pictures in a normal, Western-style reading order (left to right, top to bottom).

In the first two pictures: frames and keel are fitted and glued. Some of them had to be properly aligned using clothespins. bow and stern reinforcements were glued in place too. The instructions are not too clear about these.

Pictures 3 and 4 shows an ad hoc solution for holding the wooden parts in place: clothespins are too weak, but the foldback paper clamps are too strong and damage the soft wood. To prevent this, tissue paper is used over the contact surfaces. Some planks had to be soaked in warm water to allow for better shaping and curving. Five minutes submerged was enough, and the shaping was done by hand. All were previously cut to the proper size and sanded.