New member from Scotland (Falkirk)

Hi all, 

I am new to modelling and discovered this wonderful site last week. After a few days of lurking, it seemed best to make an account! 

I was hoping to elicit some suggestions for a first project. I reviewed the pinned post in the wood ship kit discussion board but am still at a loss. 

Vanguard Model’s Zulu looks lovely, but it seems more like a great second project. I am hoping to find a first kit that isn’t as expensive, so I would be less worried about making mistakes. 

Are there any models under £100 that are forgiving for a first timer? From the models recommended in the first build post it seems I can get most of the Artesania Latina kits and some Model Shipways’.

My suggestion would be to find a subject that you are passionate about.  Mistakes?  You'll make them, and I think we all have and continue to do.  The most important thing to remember is that there are very few mistakes that can't be solved.  Don't underestimate the time required, and think about you feel about doing repeated items.  Zulu looks like a great kit, and there are some great buildlogs here to help you along.

Cheers,

Jason

"Which it will be ready when it is ready!"

In the shipyard:

HMS Jason (c.1794: Artois Class 38 gun frigate)

Queen Anne Royal Barge (c.1700)

Finished:

HMS Snake (c.1797: Cruizer Class, ship rigged sloop)

Small boats make excellent first models. A company called Midwest Products used to manufacture a great line of such kits, though they have since dropped them from their offerings; they still turn up on eBay regularly. Model Shipways and BlueJacket Shipcrafters have both been working to fill the gap -- check with Cornwall Model Boats to see what they have in stock on your side of the pond.

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix, Hawker Hurricane

Hello, and welcome aboard!