Hello From A Newbe In Connecticut

Freebird

Hi all! Been lurking on this site since I retired a year ago and have seen many awesome builds that are very inspiring. But first a little about me. I’ve been modeling ever since I can remember and started with plastic. Being my father was an avid  R/C modeler, I quickly followed in his footsteps, so building is in my blood. I’ve won several modeling contest in plastic and a few at National R/C trade shows, mostly in scale helicopters. Back in my early 20s, I tried to build a I believe a Billings Cutty Sark, of course with no ship modeling skills, I failed miserably. I never lost the burning desire to build ship models and built several R/C boats, including submarines. Now that I’m retired and more patient, the time has come to dive into this world. For my entire working life, I worked in the jet engine field as a supervisor/manager mostly in overhaul and repair for commercial and military engines. It was a fantastic career for over 40 years. 

With this being said, I’ve decided to start with Chuck’s Medway Longboat as it ticks off a lot of boxes for me. I think there’s enough complexity without being overwhelming, new wood working skills and mostly some simple rigging will be a great starting point. Plus I just love the subject! I already have the kit and have read all of the logs, and will be adding mine. I’ll probably start after the holidays when things settle down and I look forward to making new friends here!

Best Regards ….

Freebird, aka also known as Rick

Edited by Freebird
Spelling

Hi Rick, welcome to MSW.   

You've made a good choice for a first build.  I hope you'll do a build log as it's a great way to get help with questions and also to meet others.

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds: