Advice on Fixing Bulwarks and Planks on Nisha

I am building Vanguards fantastic model Nisha but I am running into problems with the Bulwarks and planking. This is my 3rd model after the Norwergian Sailing Pram and Grand Banks Dory and I am wondering if I bit of more than I can chew with this one. 

The Bulwarks are a bit too forward, should I trim them or take them off and reglue? I used a decent amount of wood glue so I am not sure what the best way to remove it would be. 

Are any of the planks salvageable or should I remove them and try again? I am not full understanding how to taper which I thing explains the gap between blanks 3 and 4. There is a noticeable height difference between 3 and 4 as well and I am wondering if I did not do a good enough job fairing the bulwark. 

This is my first time planking, so I am sure that I am missing some fundamentals and any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated 

image.thumb.jpeg.48c05b6b446a11490d10a6bc20e8bd48.jpegimage.thumb.jpeg.2a65a41f51b69b0bad51dc1bd02e2f73.jpeg 
image.thumb.jpeg.8880cf33736060aecd4f40bc9b968cec.jpeg

image.jpeg

Hi Glomar,

Looks like you've received some excellent advice on your build log, but I'll try to add on.

It seems to me that you have not lined off your hull with tick marks. This will greatly assist with the tapering and edge-bending process. There's a good tutorial by Chuck in the Articles Database: https://thenrg.org/resources/Documents/articles/LiningOffYourHullPlankingTutorialAndFan.pdf I used it as a reference and it was very helpful.

Make sure to bevel the long edge of each plank so that they fit tighter. Otherwise you will end up with large gaps and/or a clinker effect on your hull. I made a quick diagram to help illustrate my point:

PlankBeveling.png.7e74c56f91bbed6272fba9164f2a9b5d.png