Questions Before I Buy My First Ship

Hi ya'll, I've been in interested in ship modeling for a while and am finally planning to start a build. I'm 23 and from the Western US. I've read up on some of the resources and forums this site has and it's been very helpful, and given me great guidelines for my first choice and expectations. Im thinking about starting the Albatros Schooner for my first build. Now here is where I have some questions, I'm working as a Fire Lookout this summer in Idaho, so I'll have a lot of free time. I'll have a decently sized cabin to live in and should have a decent workspace. I was gonna pick up a modelers tool set (Razorblades, pliers, miter box, tweezers, etc.). Will that be enough to complete the project? And besides glue, what else is absolutely necessary? How detailed are instructions usually, is it step by step or should I really really familiarize myself with the building process beforehand? I have some woodworking experience, but does the kit come with extra stuff in case I fumble something? Since getting anything once I'm at the lookout will be a trek. Not sure if this was the correct spot to post this but it seemed like the best option.

Thanks in advance!

A few recommendations:

• I don't know much about the Albatros kit in particular, but it is a Mantua product, and they aren't one of the first names to come up in discussions about contenders in the "Best Kit Instructions" category.
  • Starter tool combos have both their benefits and drawbacks. If you have zero tools to start with, then they're of course better than nothing. OTOH, many modelers, myself included, have quickly discovered after purchasing such tool sets that some tools get used a lot while others are rarely used, if ever. For that reason, some will argue in favor of a "go slow and buy only what you need" approach.