Spray Painting Advice/Tips for a Rookie?

This is a VERY basic question, but I have never used spray paint before so I am hoping to benefit from all your collective knowledge. Any tips, advice, cautions that you have for a rookie? I have been looking on youtube, and there is a lot of great vids regarding plastic models, but I was curious if there are any considerations for working with wood (ie: clear nail polish under tape to prevent bleeding)  Probably being a little neurotic but I am pretty far along in my first substantive build and really cautious about messing something up. Appreciate the help as always! 

Make sure the surfaces are clean and dust free, use a tack cloth to clean. Just press the edge of the tape firmly against the surface of the hull no need to put anything under the tape edge. Use a good quality masking take. and don't leave it on the hull too long. Test your spray pattern and air pressure on a piece of scrap. It will also allow you to determine how far away from the surface you need to be. Start spraying before the area you want to paint, and let up on the paint after you have cleared the end of the area to be painted. Less paint per pass is better than too much. It will take a few tries before you get everything dialed in and can actually start laying paint on the hull. I was an aircraft finishing painter for Fairchild-Republic and that is what I learned . 

Current Build: Fair American - Model Shipways

Awaiting Parts - Rattlesnake

On the Shelf - English Pinnace

18Th Century Longboat

I stand firmly against piracy!