Zheng He's Treasure Fleet by Glen McGuire – FINISHED - 1/1000 - BOTTLE

As I was finishing the Independence build, my son who is a student of Asian history suggested that I do a Chinese junk ship in a bottle next.  So when the Independence was done, I started playing around with what to do for the project.  I came up with a few ideas for the display base, one being a sword holder, which my son particularly liked.  We found one on Amazon for a samurai sword with a Chinese dragon carving.  He really liked the design and I thought the shape would work well with the profile of a bottle - the neck would rest on the dragon’s head with the end of the bottle resting on the dragon’s tail.  

20220604_072312.jpg

Next was choosing a suitable bottle.  The base is just over 14” wide, so the bottle needed to be a couple of inches longer than normal.  I went to Total Wine looking for bottles and an unusual one caught my eye.  It was a bottle of Morey lemon liqueur that was the perfect length.  I wasn’t sure if it would really work for an SIB project, but the shape was so intriguing I decided to grab it.  I could always default back to a regular bottle if necessary.  I put it on the stand and it was a perfect fit.  Plus, I thought it looked really cool.  So I decided I had to come up with a suitable ship that would pull it all together.

Morey Lemon v2.jpg

20220604_072524.jpg

Edited by Glen McGuire

In the meantime, we were trying to figure out what the 4-character inscription on the front of the stand meant.  We started by looking up a Chinese character chart but of course there were literally thousands of characters to wade thru.  Forget that!  But then I thought, “wait a minute, maybe the Amazon listing said something.”  Sure enough, it was right there in the product description.  Duh!!  The inscription means, “A Great Treasure in Your House”.  We thought that was pretty cool.

20220604_072312 (2).jpg