Constructing a Master Build Log

JDillon

Hi All, before I start I would just like to point out that I am a beginner and thus thought this idea would be benificial, feedback from members on here would be welcomed as to whether this would be a good idea or not. I appreciate this may take some time but it could be a work in progress with Admis approval. Also there may be a better member on here that could take the lead.

I would like to compile a list of vessels currently available to buy as of today. It can be listed by manufacturer and broken down into Beginner, intermediate and advanced.

Then with each vessel a log of what amendments where added / changed / removed in detail to improve the kits and replicate the origional vessel. Having to go into each build log is somewhat a daunting task. It would be nice if an experianced builder could then check and amend the log with their profestional opinion.

We could start with the most common ships people build.

For example, I found as a beginner I planked the deck of my Occre Polaris before it was attached to the frame, this made things easier and enabled me to indidually plank rather than attach whole strips and pencil in the joins, having the same grain run in lines. I know its a first build but by doing this I have learnt a new skill for future builds, than if I had attached it as per the instructions.

Also the stealers were to small and straight when fixed to the bow, this required filling and sanding to round out the hull. Tips like painting items before fixture would be helpful. Another example was that (not in the instructions) sand the stern down as when the hull planking is added and sanded down half way it is still just slightly wider than the rudder. Advice like do step C4 before doing step B1 in the instuctions sort of thing.