New member and modeller

Hello from Canada 

My name is Zac. I am brand new to this forum and a little overwhelmed tbh, almost didn’t sign up. I saw people introducing themselves here and thought I’d dip my toe in the water.

I’m going to be honest, I have no modelling experience at all, and I just purchased two wood kits from Occre. The Endurance and their just released Flying Dutchman. I’m 20 years old (something to be happy about from what I see from posts discussing how to keep the hobby alive) and picked them up as a project to do in my apartment during school. The reason I chose to get some ship models is I love the history behind them, the endurance especially, I’ve read about Shackleton’s journey many many times.

I just read a lengthy post for beginners saying don’t go in over your head. You can take your bets on wether I’m one of those modellers who disappear before their first model is complete, or one of the ones who somehow pulls off a great build (just so you know I’m starting the second hull on the endurance already).

my goal is to start a build log, so you can see where my dreams and aspirations come crashing down, just like the endurance. 

Any help and suggestions on using the forum and making use of its resources would be much appreciated, thanks for taking the time to read this far and maybe respond?

Cheers,

Zac

:piratebo5:Zac, welcome to MSW. 

The best advice I could give is definitely start that build log, as you can get an amazing amount of help, advice and encouragement from any who look in.

Best of luck with Endurance, hope to see your build log soon.

Have fun.

PS, the shop notes, modelling tips and research  section is also a good place to look and ask questions in.

Edited by Edwardkenway

Current builds;

Henry Ramey Upcher 1:25

Providence whaleboat- 1:25     HMS Winchelsea 1764 1:48 

Completed:

HM Cutter Sherbourne- 1:64- finished    Triton cross section scratch- 1:60 - finished