Protocol for sails

Scratchie

I'm not new to wood modeling (over 20+years), and prefer to build scale models.  However, I am relatively new to tall ship modeling, and I'm doing research before staring my next project, an AL San Francisco II galleon (I assume this model is only "semi-scale", but it's a starting point for a larger, RC tall ship sometime in the future).  I have a question about sails:

When building a scale tall ship, is it customary to have the sails furled or unfurled?  In the tall ship modeling world, does having furled sails signify anything, something like ship lost in battle...

Thanks, 

Scratchie

I believe sails/no sails, furled/unfurled are modeler's choice, Scratchie.   Some leave sails off due to complexity and also hiding deck details.  A lot of variables as to why or why not but I've never heard the "lost in battle" one.

Mark
"The shipwright is slow, but the wood is patient." - me

Current Build:                                                                                             
Past Builds:
 La Belle Poule 1765 - French Frigate from ANCRE plans - ON HOLD           Triton Cross-Section   

NRG Hallf Hull Planking Kit                                                                            HMS Sphinx 1775 - Vanguard Models - 1:64               

Non-Ship Model:                                                                                         On hold, maybe forever:           

CH-53 Sikorsky - 1:48 - Revell - Completed                                                   Licorne - 1755 from Hahn Plans (Scratch) Version 2.0 (Abandoned)         

I have built four ships in the last four years..first full sail , second and third no sails and currently furled sails...so even I can't decide lol 🤣🤣.  Do what you think aesthetically looks good to you for your choice of subject.. 

IMG_20220927_112117363.jpg

HMAV Bounty 'Billings' completed  

HMS Cheerful - Syren-Chuck' completed :)