Hello, I am looking to make the figurehead for my USS Essex frigate and I was wondering if it makes more sense to carve one out of wood or to carve one out of clay and then paint it,

but I have never done this before so any advice is welcome.

the figurehead ...

Screenshot 2022-11-21 12.05.36 PM.png

Screenshot 2022-11-21 12.05.26 PM.png

so mine will probably be a little more basic I am going this but his left arm is at his side and his tomohok thing is resting on his shoulder

Edited by Benjamin sullivan

I would think clay would be a bit easier to work with as you can mold various parts by themselves and the attach to the figurehead body. You could make a basic shape armature and then just start adding clay to it as you shape the figure. Just my personal observation. 

Jim

Current Build: Fair American - Model Shipways

Awaiting Parts - Rattlesnake

On the Shelf - English Pinnace

18Th Century Longboat

I stand firmly against piracy!

Clay is rather forgiving, whereas wood is not. I take it you are actually working with Sculpey. 

Current Build: Fair American - Model Shipways

Awaiting Parts - Rattlesnake

On the Shelf - English Pinnace

18Th Century Longboat

I stand firmly against piracy!

I take it you are talking about "baking clay", where one does a small sculpture and cures it in an oven.  Then it can be painted as desired.  I'll have to remember this in future.  Now for making a number of identical decorations (like the lion heads to go on the Vasa gunport lids - when opened), I molded something in modeling clay - then used multiple coats of drying latex to make a rubber mold of the feature.  Dental plaster was used to make a 'backer' for the rubber mold to prevent distortion.  Then dental plaster was used to 'cast' multiple lion's heads from the latex mold.

Completed builds:  Khufu Solar Barge - 1:72 Woody Joe

Current project(s): Gorch Fock restoration 1:100, Billing Wasa (bust) - 1:100 Billings, Great Harry (bust) 1:88 ex. Sergal 1:65