gulfmedic1

Why do you build THAT type of model

I don’t think I seen this topic posted

So, I guess the title says it all but I wanted to expand on it. My background is not in the mariner field at all, the closest I have to that is being an offshore paramedic. But I do have a great love for boats and ships, even though my best friend had to show me how to launch and recover a boat to a trailer, (embarrassing I know).

So when I first got into wood ship building it was because I was tired of the plastic models and wanted something a little more challenging and as stated I like boats. So as I did my research and found MSW I was able to better determine what I wanted as my first build. Admitting, I really like seeing all those man-o-war ships and thought wow one day I’m going to build one of those. Well while I was deciding which model to do first I found the Phantom, and really like the way she looked, and her history and I think I was a little intimidated by planking.

The more I worked on my build and the more I looked at everyone else’s build. I came to realize that I really like non war ships. I like the Bluenose, J-Class yacht, Dragon, Atlantic Schooner, friendship sloop. I noticed that I also like boats like the, lobster smack, Mare Nostrum and tug boats. I think though my favorites are the sale boats like sloops, schooners and skipjacks.

They are just beautiful and majestic, at least to me. Though later on after MUCH experience I will still probably build a war ship, I mean you just have to right.

My point to all of this is that I started out thinking what I wanted and came to realize what I actually like and why. It’s probably a silly thread but I am curious so I thought I would put it out there.

So the question stands what boats/ships did you originally want to build and why, did that change later?

Do you stick with one type of build or do you just build across the board?

Scott

Edited by gulfmedic1