Narrowing down the field for first ship model

Bill Hime

My names Bill Hime. These are three kits I've narrowed my choice to:

1) Sirene, French Frigate by Corel 1:75 scale

2) La Gloire, French Frigate by Mamoli 1:90 scale

3) Usf Confederacy, Admiralty Model 1778, 1:64 scale

NOTE: This is the one that is really calling to me.

I don't know anything about these companies or these models. Any imput would be greatly appreciated

Thanks, Bill Hime

Passion is Patience...and I am a carpenter in any scale.

Current build;  Endurance - 1:70 scale, Occre

Current build;    H.M.S. Surprise - 1796, 1:48 A L

Hi Bill

For a first model.. and since the Confederacy seems to be your favourite... why not try the Brig Syren first? A slightly smaller and simpler ship. Designed by the same person (our very own Chuck) so the kit goes together using much the same techniques.

You may also wish to consider some of the Caldercraft or Amati offerings, like the cutters Sherbourne (CC) or Lady Nelson (Amati), both 1:64

In this hobby it often pays to start with smaller simpler vessels in the same interest range as the larger kits we often drool over. Since you're not putting out as much money, it's a lot less heartbreaking when things go south on you. But there's always everyone here to cheer you along and offer helpful advice and the like.

Once you've got a kit or two under your belt, then go for that dream ship you've been wanting. All the experience and knowledge you've gained will really help you to make a model that will stand out.

Hope that helps a bit.

Andy

Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati

Current Build:

USF Confederacy

In terms of instructions, I like Corel.  I agree with Andy, you certainly can buy one of the kits you mentioned, but it may make the build easier once you beat up on a smaller kit to get your basic skills tested and tried.  Do both at the same time, it will make things much more enjoyable and less frustrating in my opinion.