How do you scale imported images in TurboCad

Hi, I am a relative newbie to CAD (using TurboCAD 20 Deluxe) and believe I am going about the scaling process the wrong way.  Could anyone please advise the best way to scale an imported picture which I intend to use to trace, or take alignment lines from.

I am trying to draw the deck arrangements for a ship (one-of -a-kind design) but very similar to the gun despatch vessels of the mid-nineteenth century.  I have already imported the deck plans for two of this class as well as a photo (adjusted)  which I use to trace and/or align to draw the deck fittings/arrangements.

To date my routine has been to create a layer with dimensions (real-world scale) shown.  I then import the image, rotate it to get it level and then manually adjust it (takes a lot of fiddly adjustments but eventually I get there) so that the picture fits to the required scale (as drawn on the Dimensions layer - usually the length between verticals with elongated perpendicular ends).  This process is difficult as when the object (layer) to be scaled is selected it comes to the fore and hides the underlying dimensions/scale layer.  Sending it to the back is not the same as layer management in say Photoshop, as in this case it is the objects that are sent to the back (which can be on the same layer).

Is there an easier way?  I was hoping to try and draw a line on the imported picture (say between the verticles), lock/merge/group this line with the picture, and then set the line's length via the properties/values for line length hoping this would then scale the grouped photo with it - BUT  this does not seem to work (or more likely I am doin git all wrong :)).