Maine Peapod by grsjax - Midwest Products - Small

This is my first build log and I expect it will progress in fits and starts with many mistakes along the way.  I have been building models off and on for 50 years.  Mostly plastic cars and planes when I was a kid progressing to simple wooden boats later on.  The last 20 years have been taken up with family and job but now that I am retired I have gotten back into the hobby and have time to work on models.

This model is the Midwest Maine Peapod in 1" = 1' scale.  I have built a few of the Midwest offerings and generally like the kits but they do have a few problems that I will point out as the build progresses.  The first is the poor support for the building forms.  As I mentioned on another forum it was necessary to use scrap from the kit to reinforce the strongback as can be seen in the following pic.  The edges of the forms are coated with bees wax to keep any stray glue from sticking the planks to the forms (I hope).

As you can see I have a couple of planks in place.  Planks are fastened with Gorilla 10sec super glue at the stems and a very small amount of Elmers white glue along the seam. 

post-321-0-48657000-1388957605_thumb.jpg

My advice and comments are always worth what you paid for them.

• 2 weeks later...