Sign in to follow this  
Alzarius

San Francisco 2 by Alzarius - Artesania Latina - (first build, noob)

Hello everyone

I have recently gotten back into this hobby, and this is my first build and I am running into problems. Ive heard this is the place to go, so here we go :)

First off, a start

I know there are rough edges, and I am using a Dremel to sand/cut them off at a later point

post-10622-0-57784300-1390886201_thumb.jpg

The problem I am running into, other than not knowing what I am doing, is the planking (big surprise)

Its getting to the point to where I believe I am going to have to start doing some cutting.

As you can see by the following picture, I am moving down and the planks are not lning up as well as they should

post-10622-0-75979400-1390886339_thumb.jpg

I tried cutting on the other side, to try to get it to be smoother, but its not quite working out as I planned.

post-10622-0-21964200-1390886373_thumb.jpg

post-10622-0-49667200-1390886389_thumb.jpg

I am basically "practicing" on this side, so that I can get the display side to look better.

Ignore the holes, I havent cut the windows out or cut/trimmed the edges yet

post-10622-0-95974200-1390886450_thumb.jpg

At this point, I am just looking for suggestions, or any errors/tricks/basic knowledge that I should know or that I am missing.

Also, as you can see by the last picture, there is a gap from where I had to bend the planks, and the straight planks. Would wood filler do anything to help this? I have not worked with it but its what I have been reading the most (Elmers wood filler, not sure how the stain would look against it)

Thanks, and Ill be updating and asking questions on a daily basis!!

Im feeling I should have gotten an easier ship to be my first one, but this one looked so fun.