USS Constitution by RadMan – Revell – 1:96 – PLASTIC

Well, here we go again.  I am rebuilding my log from the google cache.

02 JANUARY 2013

Hi, welcome to my build log. I haven't built a model in over 30 years, so I have no idea how this is going to
turn out...but I am going to give it a good try. I plan on building the model exactly (or nearly so) to the
Revell instructions.

I will try to show details of my successes and failures. I welcome your comments... I have been working for a week or so, but just now started the log... so the first page or so I dumped a lot of photos.

A little about me: I'm a former U.S. Navy submariner (sturgeon class) and mechanical engineer. I have been
working in commerical nuclear power for my entire professional life.

I have been working and living in Bulgaria for five years now...but my home is in Arizona!!

Finally, Kudo's to build logs from AndyMech, lambsbk, LMDave and "popeye the sailor" just to name a few.

9339888061_7fa807fef7_c.jpg

02 JANUARY 2013

My wife bought me the model in early December. Since I hadn't done any modeling in years, I first needed

to gather the necessary equipment. Given that I now live in Bulgaria this is a much bigger challenge than I
originally envisioned, in any case my setup is in the photo below:

8608174751_014363e196_c.jpg
Edited by RadMan

03 JANUARY 2013

Painting - In general I am crappy at painting. I believe the painting will be more challenging for me than the

construction. I am going to try to brush paint as much as possible. I decided to brush paint because it is

somehow "more personal" than to spray everything. I believe it will be more technically challenging to

brush paint.

With that said, I do intend to spray paint the black part of the hull and the white stripe on the hull... LOL. I

could only find one can of Tamiya spray in Black (TS-14 Black) and (TS-45 Pearl White). I could not find

any copper spray paint.