Airbrush results in "fuzz"

Hello all,

Here's my problem: when I airbrush bare wood, I'm getting a lot of fuzz on the model.

So, here's the particulars:

I'm working on the Midwest Sharpie Schooner.  The wood in the kit is basswood.  Before painting, I sanded everything very smooth with 600 grit sandpaper.  I'm very familiar with airbrushing.  I've been airbrushing plastic models for over 10 years.  I've tried both Model Master Acryl paints and Model Shipways paints with the same results: fuzz on the model.  The fuzz is not dust being kicked up.  It's definitely from the wood.

So, am I missing a step before painting?  I should I be sealing the wood first?  Hand brush primer and then use the airbrush?

Any help?

Thanks,

Jesse

I did experience similar problems while airbrushing  basswood. I ended up using sanding sealer and primer, several coats after sanding it off repeatedly using up to 800 grit sandpaper. The primer needs to be compatible to the type of paint being used.

Regards,

Ulrich

The problem is acrylics are water based as a result they tend to raise the grain on certain woods.  Basswood will always fuzz when using acrylics.  You have to use a sanding sealer before you can airbrush.

David B

Try using Tamiya acrylics they have a solvent base but clean up in water. They always need thinning first. I have used them on my Granado without any problem. Drying time is a little longer than water based acrylics but still much faster than enamels

Cheers
Craig 

Current Build

HMS Indefatigable 

Erycina - Vanguard Models

Finished: HM Bomb Vessel Granado - Caldercraft, HMS Pegasus - Victory models, Nisha - Vanguard Models

Hi,

Can you post a clear photo of this condition ? It may be that you are seeing the paint dry too quickly. What paint and thinning agent are you using ?