Proxxon PD230 metal lathe and CNC kit short review

Having cleared the cupboards of some my old unmade plastic models and generated some spare cash, I finally splashed out and got a metal lathe, so I thought I might make a couple of notes about it. I am a lathe novice, so if I get terminology wrong, I apologise.

My requirements included:

• Light weight so it can be stored in a cupboard or moved outside for use
  • Able to turn 45 mm diametre (I hope to make a 1/24 scale cannon and a carronade)
  • Able to use a variety of tools
  • Able to take a CNC kit to repeat jobs accurately and to cope with tapers and curvey bits

Locally in NZ, the Sieg machines and a lot of clones are available. They are cheap but quite heavy at between 35 and 55kg for the small ones. So in the end I chose a Proxxon PD230 which weighs in at 10kg with its clothes off, can turn up to 56mm, can use small lathe tools (up to 8x10mm tools) and has various CNC kits available on the market.

post-39-0-74791800-1394240504_thumb.jpg

Technical specifications:
  • centre distance: 230mm
  • swing: 52mm
  • height over cross slide: 28mm
  • cross-slide travel: 60mm
  • top slide travel: 45mm
  • steel toolholder: accepts 8mm x 8mm cutters
  • spindle bore: 10.5mm
  • thread cutting capability: 0.5mm, 0.645mm, 0.7mm, 0.75mm, 0.8mm, 1.0mm, 1.25mm, 1.5mm
  • spindle speeds with reduction: 3,000rpm, 900rpm, 300rpm
  • automatic feed resolution: 0.05mm/rev or 1.0mm/rev
  • tailstock spindle: MK1 bore (short)
  • tailstock travel: 30mm
  • internal chucking capacity: 2mm - 35mm
  • external chucking capacity: 24mm - 68mm
  • handwheel resolution: 1 revolution = 1mm feed (40 divisions)
  • mass: 10kg
  • dimensions: 530mm x 250mm x 150mm

The lathe came with 3 jaw chuck and live centre and a few bits and bobs for threading and gear cutting, which I do not plan on using.

In addition, I got (over the following couple of weeks)

• splash guard/tray
  • Quick tool change post plus extra tool holders