Hi Mates,

Still working, very slowly, on the carriages. This post is in the form of a question. Would any of you kind soles have a "perfect" idea on how I might replicate the axle stops so that the wheels won't fall off?

The small pieces that I am using for the axle supports that attach vertically to the carriage are a bit too wide to be added to the axles as keys. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

I do know that most who are kind enough to drop-in do so silently, but any ideas that have worked for you would be a treat. This is my first attempt at gun carriages. 

Michael

post-735-0-35852500-1396897720_thumb.jpg

post-735-0-81367600-1396897727_thumb.jpg

Edited by md1400cs

Michael

Current buildSovereign of the Seas 1/78 Sergal

Under the table:

Golden Hind - C Mamoli    Oseberg - Billings 720 - Drakkar - Amati

Completed:   

Santa Maria-Mantua --

Vasa-Corel -

Santisima Trinidad cross section OcCre 1/90th

Gallery :    Santa Maria - Vasa

Not sure if scalable or accurate, but have you tried drilling a hole and using a brass or copper wire as a stop? Just an idea that I have seen used in other situations elsewhere

Carl

Completed builds: AL Bluenose II 1:75  Gallery
                              Amati Hannah SIB 1:300  Gallery

Current Build: Bluenose II - SIB - unknown scale

Michael,

I am not 100% sure but the axle trees where probably not cylindrical except the portion that extends beyond the brackets, but rather would have been square or rectangular, not unlike the French and British carriage axle trees.  There are some great photos of the Wasa, including cannon and carriages showing simple pins to keep the trucks from coming off the axle trees.  www. vasamuseet.se/en

Go to the  search box and type in carriage, but have fun surfing the entire site.

Allan