Another NewGuy entry - Midwest's Boston Tender was supposed to be easy!

Hello all, I hope I can explain my stumbling here (wow, this was supposed to be the easy stuff...).

I'm brand new to this, to state the obvious.  But I wanted to try my hand at some building and started with Midwest's Boston Whitehall Tender, plank-on-frames. (Another one of those things I've wanted to do since I was about 10 yrs old; now I'm getting to it in my second childhood.)  The instructions and illustrations don't describe any shaping of the hull planks, and only show full planks extending from the stem to the transom, until you get to all the way down to the keel and have to start shaping to fit.  (The only photos of the finished boat don't show much detail of problem areas.)

But with the curves and changes in the lines from bow to stern, I just don't see how that can be. And I've pretty much made a mess of it about half way down toward the keel, because the planks want to "step" down, and I know that's not right.

If I wanted to quint my eyes real hard and pretend, I could sand to the outside of the hull (to onion-skin thickness in some spots) to a nice finish, but the inside would still be a mess.

What am I missing here?  What I really want to do is start over, but I can't even really envision any different result.

Hi Mark and welcome to the forum

If your planking is starting to take a 'clinker' fashion then it is most certainly because the previously laid planks required some tapering.If you should if you read the planking tutorials it gives you a good idea of the correct way to plank using stripwood.You want to look at the beginners one rather than the ones involving cutting shaped planks from sheet.

Kind Regards

Nigel

Currently working on Royal Caroline

Thanks Nigel, Geoff, and Joe.  I just looked at photos of your work, and it is impressive indeed!