GUNBOAT PHILADELPHIA by Steve.Y - FINISHED - Model Shipways

Well, After some prodding I am starting a build log on my recently acquired Model Shipways Gunboat Philadelphia. I am rather new to ship building, and anticipate a lot of fun trying to construct this boat. Fellow member Chuck Seiler (builder of a scratch Philly) has been very kind in offering up advice and tips. I welcome any advice. In fact, Please! Chuck is building the same kit, and I will shadow his progress gathering info and ideas. I have already inundated him with questions. So that being said, off I go to glue, cut, sand and try and figure how to build a boat!

post-13761-0-80340900-1407792924_thumb.jpg

...and here we all are!!!  Welcome to the build Steve.  Hopefully a bunch of my followers will cross over.

Chuck Seiler
San Diego Ship Modelers Guild
Nautical Research Guild

Current Build:: Colonial Schooner SULTANA (scratch from Model Expo Plans), Hanseatic Cog Wutender Hund, John Smith Shallop
Completed:  Missouri Riverboat FAR WEST (1876) Scratch, 1776 Gunboat PHILADELPHIA (Scratch 1/4 scale-Model Shipways plans)

Sternpost and stem glued to keel. However, keel is not glued to bottom as I am going to plank the underside. So far all looks pretty good. Tight solid fit. Using Titebond, so at least I can get mistakes apart for a re-do if needed. Did a parts inventory and all are accounted for. Also numbered parts for easy, quick access.

I really enjoy taking my time and relaxing as I work on this. I am not in a hurry. I find it fun going slow and thinking each step out. Of course I have had a lot of help from Chuck! Can't wait to see his Philly get started!

post-13761-0-69741700-1408002934_thumb.jpg

If you get Seaways Ship in Scale Kurt Van Dahm did several articles on building the Philadelphia.

David B

Steve,

Looking good!

Rumor has it ME has PHILLY on sale for $119.  Maybe we will get more builders.  Sounds like a 'community build' project, eh?

Chuck Seiler
Nautical Research Guild