Unicorn by ameletters - Corel

I'm brand new to this as well, but until one of the experts chimes in with a better solution, here is what I did for the first few planks (until I ran out of room on the bulkheads to use these).

I found these clamps - http://www.modelexpo-online.com/product.asp?ITEMNO=MX104 and I thought they were pretty neat, but between my impatience to progress, and being cheap, I used the concept of those clamps, and made my own ghetto version.

I took some small binder clips, and cut small pieces of craft sticks (the tongue depressor looking sticks) and chopped them up and glued them to the inside of the binder clips with super glue.

Here is what they look like in action, and they worked really good while the space on the bulkheads allowed them a good grip.

043PlankClamps02.jpg

Modellers Shipyard in Sydney will sell you planking screws. They are a little expensive for what they are but they do work. Have a look at their website, you may be able to make up something similar. I have used pushpins with a plastic piece glued to the underside of the plastic on the pushpin. I hammer rather than screw them into the bulkhead below the plank being attached.

Hornet

Current Build: - OcCre Shackleton’s Endurance. 

Completed Ship Builds:

Caldercraft - HM Bark Endeavour. (in Gallery)

Caldercraft  - HMAV Bounty (in Gallery)

Caldercraft - HM Brig Supply (In Gallery)

Aeropiccola - Golden Hind

- Constitution

Clipper Seawitch (maker unknown - too long ago to remember!)

Corel - Victory

Modeller's Shipyard - A Schooner of Port Jackson - In Gallery

- Brig `Perseverance' - In Gallery

- Cutter `Mermaid'- In Gallery

- Sirius Longboat (bashed) - In Gallery

- Sloop Norfolk - In Gallery

Completed Cannon:   - French 18th Century Naval Cannon

- Napoleonic 12 pound field piece

- English 18th Century Carronade

Non Ship Builds - Sopwith Camel - Artesania Latina

- Fokker DR1 - Artesania Latina

• 2 weeks later...