Runner Pendants

GLakie

Hi Gentlemen and Ladies of course.

I'm currently studying the rigging plans for MS's Constitution and am wondering if there is any other use for the Runner Pendants (mast tackle) and Burton Pendants, other than being used for various lifting jobs and fishing anchors and the like. Were they ever used for any other kind of structural rigging? Been looking around and can't seem to find much info on the subject.

Cheers

GEORGE

MgrHa7Z.gif

Don't be bound by the limits of what you already know, be unlimited by what you are willing to learn.

Member of the Nautical Research Guild

Thanks Henry. I'll be adding that info to my memory banks as well. :dancetl6:

Cheers

GEORGE

MgrHa7Z.gif

Don't be bound by the limits of what you already know, be unlimited by what you are willing to learn.

They strike me as odd ropes to have around too. If you need to have a purchase aloft, why not just put a line around the masthead over the Trestle Trees? I guess you would need twenty more feet of rope to do it that way, if you didn't have the tackles hanging there. And I suppose the fact that they are there on every ship speaks to the fact they must have tried getting along without them and came to the conclusion they were better to have than not.

Niagara USS Constitution 

Hi Frank or do you prefer Frankie?   :piratebo5:

After a little more research into it, I can see where they would be useful for a number of lifting tasks, on deck, and aloft, for hoisting yards, tackle, and the like. But when I first looked at them, I thought it was one of those parts that served no real function like a figurehead or something, but after researching, I found out different. Actually very useful.  :rolleyes:

Cheers

GEORGE

MgrHa7Z.gif