Sultana by Skyline - Model Shipways

Hey all, 

First, I'd like to say I'm impressed by the community and excited about becoming a contributor to it. This seems like a great collection of folks who are passionate about the hobby and quick to help one another. 

A little background on me: I'm brand new to this whole thing with minimal woodworking experience. Put together plastic models in my younger years and finally pulled the trigger after mulling over a model ship for the last year. I decided on the Model Shipways Sultana with the tools/paint provided by Model Expo. Decent little kit with a few of the tools needed to get going. A story you've likely all heard once or twice before. 

I started putting tool to wood about 24 hours ago (though I've only done about 1-2 of actual work) after reading up on a handful of materials. I've been following the log by hopeful, Chuck's practicum and the instructions included with the kit.  

Step 1 was removing the bulwarks. I've been using a combination of the #11 blade, a chisel edge blade and a file to do so. Frankly my inexperience is showing right from square one. It's a rather solid butcher job and I'm concerned that the edges are not sharp enough. Any tool/technique suggestions to achieve some cleaner lines would be much appreciated. Photos are attached for reference. 

post-9019-0-27950500-1386547628_thumb.jpg

post-9019-0-64135100-1386547631_thumb.jpg

post-9019-0-68373800-1386547634_thumb.jpg

post-9019-0-91128200-1386547637_thumb.jpg

post-9019-0-99823000-1386547640_thumb.jpg

Hello Skyline and welcome to MSW.