Yard lift vs Shrouds?

Hey guys,

I'm a beginner doing a (plastic) kit build of Revell's Spanish Galleon (which from what I can tell is more of a English Man O War instead of a Galleon), and I'm running into the following problem:

The kit calls for a slight angle on the yards (~10deg). I might have overdid this a little at 15deg. I've also decided to do all of my rigging before putting on my preformed shrouds on against the instructions as doing the rigging would be a huge PITA with the shrouds being in the way. However, when I try to put on the shrouds, it seems that because of my yard angles, the yard lift is in the way of the shrouds (see pic).

post-2545-0-20563200-1394427460_thumb.jpg

Unfortunately there isn't many resources on ships this age except maybe Sovereign, and nobody seems to be running into this problem. I guess I have a few questions:

1. Is this supposed to happen? My guess is no.

2. Yard lifts are supposed to go in front of shrouds right? Instead of between shroud lines?

3. Did I overdo the angles on my yards?

4. Is there any saving myself at this point, other than surgically removing my yards and glue them on at a different angle?

Thanks all,

Jeff

Jeff

Current: Revell 1:96 Spanish Galleon

Past: Revell 1:192 USS Constitution

Next: Model Shipways Sultana

The upper blocks for the lifts were sometimes fastened to the mast with a pendant that passed through the shrouds so that the block was outboard of the plane of the shrouds.   That may make it a little easier to re-rig the lifts after you fit the shrouds in place.

Side note:  Watch out, if you changed the intended angle of the mast your shrouds may not fit properly.

Henry

Laissez le bon temps rouler ! 

Current Build:  Le Soleil Royal

Completed Build Amerigo Vespucci