Polaris by UMH - OcCre - 1:50 - first build

Hello everyone,

In my introduction I was invited to write a build log. Of course I don't want to miss this opportunity. Firstly, because I am a beginner and can certainly use some support. Secondly, I would like to participate in the forum in some way. Based on some research,

I decided a few weeks ago to buy the Polaris kit from Occre in 1:50 scale. Since there are already some good reports here in the forum in which the kit is presented, I decided to start building it right here.

For the sake of simplicity, I have written most of the text in German and had it translated with Deepl. I hope it fits. 🙂

image.jpeg.0dd1c46c842bbf4751c85ffca85728b5.jpeg

After everything was unpacked and the missing tools were delivered, I started to separate the frames. I smoothed out the separation points with a small file.

After I had sanded the surface briefly, and dry-fitted the frame together. Since everything fitted, I was able to use white glue and glue the whole thing together.

20220619_192556.jpg.705b1aa5ce5ca8e924ef2da7253e7af1.jpg20220619_192547.jpg.f1a7ac7d5de788157f40993d2abb9117.jpg

The next step was the deck planking. I didn't want to rely on the instructions alone, but also to consult the technical literature.

Years ago I bought the book Historische Schiffsmodelle by Wolfram zu Mondfeld. And I would be happy if I could finally understand what it says. 😉

image.jpeg.31f8f08a850839602e6eba5ed43c9731.jpeg

The instructions provide for the laying of whole planks. The joint is indicated with a pencil. I originally had the idea not to do this but to lay individual planks according to the usual 1-2-3-4-1. However, I decided against it and laid whole strips. 

Before laying, I tried to colour the edges with a pencil. But I did not succeed as I wished. After I had tried a felt pen on a leftover piece, I coloured the edges with a black felt pen.