Which entry level kit to build?

goforit

I am new to ship building but have extensive experience with wood R/C airplanes.

I have been building planes since the mid 60's and finally quit flying a couple years ago. In the last 20 years I scratched built most of what I was flying. Now, I have never built a ship and just don't know enough about kit makers and what is a good kit to start. I am going to assume that I need to start in the Entry level ones but just don't know. I don't want to start on one that is too complicated until I get my feet wet.

Since I retired 3 years ago, my billfold has shrunk, so I can't put out a lot of money on one.

I do have a good setup for model woodworking, so that is not a problem here.

I know everyone has their own ideas on which one but like I said, I don't know enough about the mfgs. that are out there.

I've been looking at the community build of the Longboat ( I think that is what it is called) but not sure if that would be something I could build with the experience I lack in ships.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

Richard

current build:

Boston Whitehall Tender

John Alden Sloop

waiting to be built:

Maine Peapod

Future build

Something larger

Welcome to MSW Richard. :) You're among friends here so your lack of experience is nothing to worry about. A lot of people will give their time and advise.

It's always dicey to suggest kits.... but I'll throw one out there for grins. Midwest is an entry level company that has pretty good instructions, are definitely not too detailed and are reasonable. For example, a canoe with planked hull, about 16" long runs about $35. It or many other kits, including a few longboats that they sell might help get your feet wet.

One site that sells a bunch of different makers is http://www.historicships.com/

Feast your eyes on all those and then come back with questions.

Hope this helps.

Richard,