Bluenose by darr - Model Shipways - 1:48

Hi all ,

So as I have a few days away from the office I decided to make a start on my Bluenose from model shipways .

I'm not going to put up more pics of the actual kit as I found lots on here already .

This is my first kit and I thought about buying the practicum from llc and still might if I get in to too much trouble .

So to say it's a little daunting is an understatement ... I have built model aircraft a few years ago but my day job is on computer code and I'm not exactly a renowned handy man ... My wife is still waiting on some shelves to be put up a few years later :) ..

Anyway I have unpacked and checked everything and all seems correct , I have studied some of ship modelling simplified and want to make a start on the keel so that it would be set for the weekend but already have a few questions ..

So 1st off my work bench is actually my wife's craft table so if you spot a lot of weird stuff on it , that's her's

So I cut out the 3 keel sections

And as you can see from photo 2 the stern keel is about 1 mm out of line from the center at the bottom it's fine at the top the bow end is fine

Workspace

post-10179-0-78395300-1458162448_thumb.jpeg

Stern & center lower join

post-10179-0-34471400-1458162481_thumb.jpeg

Close up

post-10179-0-35203400-1458162634_thumb.jpeg

I also had a question around if I should mark the reference line before gluing and any advice on doing this correctly ?

Should I sand the laser burn marks off ?

Sorry for what I am sure are basic questions !!!!

Edited by darr

There is nothing wrong with basic questions! I do believe you are supposed to sand the burn marks. Good luck!

-Elijah

Current build(s):

Continental Gunboat Philadelphia by Model Shipways

https://modelshipworld.com/index.php?/topic/15753-continental-gunboat-philadelphia-by-elijah-model-shipways-124-scale/

Completed build(s):

Model Shipways Phantom

http://modelshipworld.com/index.php?showtopic=12376

Member of: