Sakonnet Daysailer by Chief Mac - Midwest Products - Scale 1:24 - SMALL - my first wood ship build

I saw another model Sakonnet being modeled on here after I picked up my kit and thought I would post a log as well. I picked this kit up for a very modest price of $10 at a swap meet and didn't even know if it was complete but the instruction were and I figured I could scratch build any missing parts. I'm new to ship modeling but have done quite a lot of planes and cars, mostly plastic. I figured I would tackle this with a small project before attempting a larger one. I've got my follow on projects already planned, a MS Rattlesnake vintage carved plug that was given to me for dirt cheap and I'd like to scratch build a Clipper or the 1797 Constellation. I know pretty ambitious but here is my start to this Alden Classic.

post-9299-0-10790100-1387419630_thumb.jpg

Started with the keel, it was already punched out with a few chunks from the rudder area, so I figured I might try and hinge it? I dry fit the frames and then glued them. I didn't have a fancy alignment jig, so I squared them up with clothes pins and a tiny metal machinist ruler I have.

post-9299-0-14350200-1387419663_thumb.jpg

I beveled the transom bulkhead at the top to accept the deck by carving it away with my hobby blade and then rough sanding.

I then attached the deck with rubber bands to clamp it and added the stringers, I had to cut one of the 1/16th stringers(Chines) out of balsa as the kit supplied piece was not long enough for both.

So far so good, next I'm going to prime all the inner areas with some clear coat before smoothing the frames for interior paint.

I took some time to also to trace out the frame pieces to build a follow on kit in the future as well. I really love this style of small sailboat. My real life Daysailer is a 1969 Ghost 13 by Janus, it's fiberglass but it gets us out on the water.