When to ratline?

I have my lower shrouds on and I'm thinking of putting on my ratlines next. I read Underhill waited untill after the running rigging was on as it gives more room to belay. As braces will be going over where I need to work doesn't it make more sense to do this now? I'd be interested in hearing any thoughts on this.  Thanks.

Von Stetina

building clipper Lightning 1/8 scale

Bruce,

I've just finished my ratlines. I did them as the last item of the Standing Rigging. That worked okay, but I did find the backstays various to be a bit of a nuisance. Might have been a bit easier to do them a little earlier in the build, but it's probably six of one and half a dozen of the other.

Edited by gjdale

I might be able to leave braces untill later, but I don't like the idea of having the yards moving around that loose, not sure as I've never done rigging before. This ship has belaying down in some tuff areas, I see the ratlines could be restrictive. However doing all those knots having to work around the braces seems like it would be an issue.    I suppose the yards could be tied out of the way whille I do the ratlines. 

Von Stetina

Bruce,

I had only the bowsprit yards fitted when I did mine and found I was constantly knocking them when working on the foremast ratlines. Trying to tie them with all yards fitted might be asking for trouble.

Hi Grant and John, Yes Grant, that's what I'm worried about....knocking a yard silly. That makes great sense John. I had visualized working bottom to top with all of it as I go, but I see that you're right as I think about it.  I guess I can secure the yards as I need to with temporary lines.