18th Century Longboat by scasey88 - Model Shipways - small

Hello, this is my first build and chose the 18th century Longboat for a few reasons, it would give me some planking and rigging experience and if I totally messed it up I would no be out a lot of money, and I expected a challenge, which it is. I almost gave up on it after seeing a few of the other builds here, but decided to carry on with it and do the best I could with the mistakes that I have made, I. am bad at taking pictures while I am working but here we go.

longboat.jpg

6 hours ago, Andi Little said:

It looks to be a good start to me, and you obviously have the skills to take you forward - I think you are going to do particularly well.

Keep it up - well done!

PS, I'm a newbie too, and I haven't even got mine out of the box yet!!! :blink:

Thank you Andi, I appreciate it, What kit did you choose? The longboat as well? Get it out of that box and get started its lots of fun.:D

1 hour ago, Tigersteve said:

Best of luck. It is a difficult kit, but you've made good progress. 

Steve

Thank you Steve, I made some more progress last night I finished up the planking, now I need to fill and sand, I will post some more pics tonight when I get home from work.

Shawn

I suggest sanding as smooth as possible first, then fill, then sand again. You can mix the sawdust from the basswood with white glue to create the filler. Mix the glue and sawdust until it's a paste consistency. Just a tip that has worked for me.

Steve

Thanks for the tip Steve,