Museum Researcher looking for assistance

Good morning! 

My name is Holly and I am a Research Officer at a small regional museum, mostly focused on military history. Yesterday afternoon a woman came in with a homemade ship model, unlike any I've seen before (or have seen scrolling through some of the posts on here!) and I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I don't even know if ya'll would consider this a "model" or if there is another term I'm not familiar with!  I've attached a photo...it's relief style,  mean to be hung. The oar is not attached, and comes off cleanly.  The woman did not want to give me much information about it, just that it was found in a house she had bought, that she thought it was 50 years old, and that she thought it was made by a previous owner,  a doctor that had built a sailboat. 

Would appreciate any information/redirection! 

Cheers, 

Holly 

boatmodel.jpg

Hi Holly and welcome to Model Ship World.  The photo is of a half hull ship model.  Per Wikipedia: "A half hull model ship (also known as a "half hull" or "half ship") is a wooden model ship featuring only one half of a boat's hull without rigging or other fixtures.  Prior to the twentieth century, half hull model ships were constructed by shipwrights as a means of planning a ship's design and sheer and ensuring that the ship would be symmetrical. The half hulls were mounted on a board and were exact scale replicas of the actual ship's hull. With the advent of computer design, half hulls are now built as decorative nautical art and constructed after a ship is completed."

I hope this help out.

Ryland

Member - Hampton Roads Ship Model Society

- Ship Model Society of New Jersey

- Nautical Research Guild

Current Build - Armed Virginia Sloop, 18th Century Longboat

Completed Build - Medway Longboat

22 minutes ago, FRMResearcher said:

I don't even know if ya'll would consider this a "model" or if there is another term I'm not familiar with!