Polaris by RH-J - OcCre - 1:50

With apologies, this is not a build log per sa but a resume of the problems experienced by a complete beginner and their solutions. As is common in most activities, manufacturers and authors assume a far greater knowledge than a novice possesses even though their product/literature is targeted towards them. Hopefully, as my jottings catch up with my build progress the following will evolve into a true build log.

Ribs.

Placing these was the first challenge. It is essential these are fixed perpendicular to the false keel. I read/watched many tutorials, which showed many and varied ways of achieving this with varying degrees of complication. In the end I opted for a very simple solution - bulldog clips. By placing a bulldog clip on the false keel and tight to each rib, the rib was a) kept in place and b) held at right angles to the false keel. There is the additional benefit of the bulldog clips providing 'legs' to support the skeleton while the glue set.

Planking the deck.

I was less than convinced with OcCre's instructions for planking the deck. For starters, nail heads would not be visible having been countersunk and plugged in a real boat. I subsequently learned, in real boats, the planks would be a) in 6, 9 or 12 foot lengths, b) begin with a king plank on the centre line of the deck and not a joint and c) laid to a 4 plank stagger for French built boats or 5 plank stagger for British built boats. Through trial and error, I also discovered shading the plank edges with a 5B pencil produced the best simulation of the caulking. Once I decided to use planks rather than complete strips, a contact adhesive was impractical and I reverted to PVA. To scale a 12' plank in a 5 plank stagger produced impossible fractions of a millimetre so I made the decision to utilise a 4 plank stagger. I also decided an edge plank was beyond my skill level and, in any event, this would be covered by the edge plank included in the kit.