Help with Caldercraft Badger please!

Hi, I'm new to model ships and am building Caldercraft Badger but  would appreciate some advice if anyone has built it

It's regarding the gunports. The manual says to "use full use of PVA and flathead pins" but I can't understand (very inexperienced) how the gunport will stay steady 

when the bulkhead extensions are removed at a later time and whether removing these extensions will damage the gunport pattern. Also, when the plank terminations

are removed what will the gunport pattern be attached to? Perhaps I am overthinking this and should just plod on and see what happens!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Jeff.

Jeff, I'm not familiar with Badger, but there are plenty of Badger logs on the site for you to reference which would likely be of value.  The construction method you reference is pretty common to all Caldercraft (and other kits).  You'll be surprised at the strength of the final hull once the second planking has been installed, and especially after the additional interior planking has been attached.  Just be sure to get a good glue bond between the ply template and the limewood first planking edges.  I have found that a SMALL amount of PVA glue on the bulkhead extensions can help ensure these stay positioned appropriately   Personally, I've never found a use for the pins, but many people here seem to use them.

BTW - welcome to MSW, and I'd strongly suggest starting a build log, photos are a big help to others to help you, and you will get plenty of good advice and support.

Edited by Beef Wellington

Cheers,

Jason

"Which it will be ready when it is ready!"

In the shipyard:

HMS Jason (c.1794: Artois Class 38 gun frigate)

Queen Anne Royal Barge (c.1700)

Finished:

HMS Snake (c.1797: Cruizer Class, ship rigged sloop)

I built it a long time ago and remember having a little trepidation on that step, but just follow the instructions.  Pin and glue the gunport pattern as a first step: