Bluenose by Reindeer - Model Shipways

Model Shipways Bluenose Build Log 10-02-14

Hello everyone! Once again wanted to say thanks for the very warm greetings and overall wonderful site! I've seen numerous comments about doing a build log for help and encouragement, and that seems like a great idea, so here we go! :-)

This is my first attempt with building a wooden ship model. With what research I have done, this seems like as good a choice as any. Aside from the ship generally being a pleasing design (at least in my eye! LOL!) there is also a wealth of resources and information available. The original Bluenose was built just a few years before my parents were born, and with the recent rebuilding and rechristening of the Bluenose II, it certainly is a subject that is very current. The ship does hold historical significance, and I suspect it has had a MAJOR influence on modern yacht racing.

The reasons in particular for going with the Model Shipways version is:

1. Cost. Model Expo is currently offering a 40% discount on the kit (Code EM40), and the price dropped by $20 this morning, so I was able to purchase the model for $104, and had enough left over for the paints and a fresh set of chisels.

2. Scale. The fact that this model is in 1:64 (S-Scale) is a nice size to work with, and should make obtaining accessories like crew members not too difficult.

3. Wealth of build information. Gary Brinker over on YouTube (That is his channel name BTW) is doing a detailed build log of his model, and thus far has done a wonderful job showing both his progress and the issues with this kit. Also there are any number of other build logs, practicums, and pictures to work with.

4. Instructions and plans. Again from the comments I have read elsewhere, this model seems to be the best of the bunch in this regard. For a first time out, my opinion is this would be critical.