Model shipways flying fish

ECD92E4D-1A67-43A3-81A2-2A010061FFD0.thumb.jpeg.25544a4e0cc77bf8dab526a19e2ec15c.jpegHi guys

im very new to model ship building but I’ve always been impressed by the standard and quality of some of the builds on here , 

my wife knows of my interest and at Xmas bought me the model shipways flying fish

i have never built a model ship before and this project has put me in at the deep end,

i started building the kit in January I’m just taking my time building the hull etc , but now I’m stuck I’m not quite sure how to carve the waterways the instructions on this part are very vague ,it says that the waterways have to follow the curvature of the hull .

upto now I don’t think I’ve done a bad job on the build but I don’t want to mess it up on the waterways,

can anyone help please 

BEFF044A-3F87-487E-8D17-E8363FD1B7CF.jpeg

2ECD77CF-AD34-44B3-89A7-0B242328DFAB.jpeg

816A4BFD-E8E3-43C7-B228-B3D84209BD70.jpeg

Edited by Wizbang69
Photo of flying fish build

Start a build log, you'll get lots of help, and adding photos and/or plans to your posts will help a lot too, as it is now I have no real idea what the problem is. The waterways should be a narrow molding running along the deck/bulwarks joint and there were many different profiles used, but all were sloped inward and generally looked like a right triangle in profile.

We could help you better if you could tell us more about what you are trying to do.  Is your kit a solid hull or a plank on bulkhead,  are you trying to carve the waterway from the solid hull or you cutting a strip of wood to use? 

As as posted above the waterway is a timber at the junction between the deck and the bulwark.  In some solid hull models it is necessary to thin the bulwark.  Did you mean to say that you are trying to thin the bulwark?

like the old saying goes, "A look is worth a thousand tells."  Post a photo of your situation.

Roger

On 2/19/2019 at 7:08 PM, Wizbang69 said: