Swift by 3sheets10 - Artesania Latina - first build

Hello Esteemed Builders,

First, I would like to say that it is very exciting to see all the great work everyone has posted on MSW.

I am completely new to the hobby of model ship building. I took a course in the history of sea power during college and fell in love with tall sail ships. Some how I landed on a website looking at wooden model ships and before I knew it I had the Swift kit in my hands. Lucky, I have now found some time to work on it and am excited to see how it goes. I wanted to say hello and I certainly welcome all advice and expertise as I build the swift. 

Tyler 

Right off the bat, I have some questions. 

As I am fitting the frames into the keel, I noticed that frame #2 is sitting uneven. It is not sitting perpendicular to the keel. Any idea why this is happening and how to fix it, or even if it needs to be fixed? 

post-5701-0-17260800-1374802209_thumb.jpg

It very important that the bulkheads are square in the keel.

Why is it not? Poor production, warpage or possibly someother issue.

Squaring the frame and Fairing the bulkheads is an important part of starting the ship. If the bones are warped, everything else from that point will be also.

Its hard to tell from the picture, but it looks as though the bottom of bulkhead 2 is forward, which makes me question the cut of the slots. Ok course my swift is the older kit but it should still be square. I had a bit of warpage that I fixed with blocks. You can see this in my log.

I would suggest before gluing anything, getting something to hold the bulkheads square while gluing. I used angle Aluminum in the four corners but I've seen big legos used as well. All depends on whats handy.