HMS Agamemnon's Launch by Andyrew - Disarmodel - 1:30 Scale

It's been quite a while since my last build, I've been really busy at work, we had a Technician leave just before Christmas and have now got 2 new Apprentices, they have had to be trained in the basics of the job, and of course, as is traditional with all new Apprentices, several practical tricks have to be played on them, sent to the Stores for a long weight (wait) and the one that caught me out when I was an Apprentice, a 100 Farad Capacitor which would have been about the size of a small town. I've been interested by Disar Models for a while but have never seen anything built of theirs until about 4 months ago when I found a YouTube video of a Spanish chap building HMS Agamemnon's Launch and decided to get one knowing that if I had any problems I could watch his videos. 

AgaA1.thumb.jpg.ffcfda540d922516ca97e032819b4741.jpg

So lets have a look inside the box,

AgaA2.thumb.jpg.a76ae4a3ba3947b2b0d1671903dc19b0.jpgThe Instruction Manual has nice colour photos, a small amount of written instructions in 5 languages including English and a parts list. Having read through it several times there are a few areas that might require a bit of guesswork so this might not be a kit for a first build.

AgaA6.thumb.jpg.9f7ef0198fb0e5619d257cfef33f6a21.jpg

The Frames and Keel are Laser cut in 5mm Plywood, there was a slight warp in the Keel but this disappeared when I removed it from the fret. The other 2 sheets are Laser cut Mansonia wood which is African Walnut,

AgaA4.thumb.jpg.c4fe8bf3f9a4d97edf9fee45f1678d54.jpg

All the strip wood is nicely cut with straight edges, it's a mixture of Mansonia and Iroka.

AgaA3.thumb.jpg.ea1ee7a68254ac20392115ebdc6afd24.jpg

The Plastic box contains the various Blocks, Dead Eyes, Brass wire and strip, 2 Barrels, the Anchor, Tiller and Ensign.

AgaA5.thumb.jpg.607c139f513b965a5b69dc7a61ae32dd.jpg

2 Spools and a length of thread for the rigging.