[BEGINNER] Schooner Vega: help me read these plans

Im brand new to model ships and have bought a ”schooner Vega” from billing boats. I dont understand planking at all but ive read the guide thats on here... however, these plans are a bit hard to read to a beginner like me. It looks like you cut off two tops in step #6 then again in #9 but in order to get the floor base on I have to cut off every single top but then how are the planks gonna stay in place. They’re not stuck to anything in step #11 and forward. How am I supposed to stick the top planks to the frame?v1U0Ddl.jpgvZkXvPQ.jpg

Edited by Matt_the_dude

I'm certainly no expert in these matters, and I am sure others will wade in with more informed opinion to correct me where I am wrong. First up, Matt, allow me to just roll my lap-top over onto its' side in order to read these pics a little better ...

From what I can see, they are NOT telling you to remove the tops of the frames at Step#6 .... it appears to me that all that instruction is telling you is to fair the forward face of the upright section, in order that your plank will sit against that upright as it curves around and into the bow and rabbet. You DON'T want to bend your planks around a 90 degree upright, where it will only touch the wood in one spot. You will pare/sand that face down to give your planks the maximum amount to hold onto. Look carefully at Step #8 and Step#9 ... that upright is still there.

It is only AFTER your planking has been shaped and fitted to all of the uprights and after the glue has completely set, that you will then remove all of those uprights. 

I'll leave the floor open to those with more knowledge ...

Edited by CaptainSteve

CaptainSteve
Current Build:  HM Granado Bomb Vessel (Caldercraft)

My BathTub:    Queen Anne Barge (Syren Ship Models)       Log:  Queen Anne Barge (an build log)

Bounty Launch (Model Shipways)                 Log:  Bounty Launch by CaptainSteve
                        Apostol Felipe (OcCre)