CH-53 Sikorsky by mtaylor - 1:48 - Revell - FINISHED

mtaylor

I'm going to start a plastic kit since I need better weather to continue on my Belle Poule.  This model is something I wanted to build for a long time but never had the time or could find one.  I picked or maybe it picked me (thanks Lou).  In Marines from '66 to '70, I was a electronics tech, avionics test flight member, and whatever else they could find for me do them.  I'm building it as a D-model as that was type.  I have two choices, I could  build as one of my squadrons from the States (Santa Ana Air Facility, California) or Vietnam.   I picked the State side version as I served in the stateside squadron for a bit more than 2 and half years. In 'Nam, I was only there for the last 8 months of my enlistment as the Commandant issued an order that ALL marines would serve in Vietnam, even with those who had a couple of weeks left.  

Here's a picture of the kit I'll be using:  1163257386_Revell20449820CH53gd.jpg.92b1620a44833424aff115ed81eda8f1.jpg

I'll be using minimal PE and aftermarket items as there just isn't much out there.  I will be adding the .50 machine guns to the doors such as we used in training flights here in the States and in Nam for protecton.

So... state side chopper it is.  The squadron was HMHT-301 which was a training unit at the above base along with two CH-46 squadrons.  I'll put pictures of the aircraft and base below and then start the build log probably in day or so as have to buy some paints from the hobby shopl

First a couple of bird.  Color photos from the '60's havent' aged well....

a-ch-53-sea-stallion-helicopter-rests-on-a-recently-installed-landing-mat-at-c65765.jpg.913f6fafc7ecb7e24898ac889ad5720f.jpg

Heilos1.jpg.56e363244a87778e7c6cc42493083af1.jpg

And a few of the base.   Santa Ana was old blimp base during WWII with (if I recall correctly) the third largest blimp hangers in the States. In the first picture, our hanger was lower one of the two pictured.