Mast Length Ambiguity

I have a stupid question.  When mast lengths are specified, from where to where do they get measured?

From The Baltimore Clipper by Chapelle, he gives:

Mainmast, from heel to hound = extreme breadth x from 2.6 to 2.8

Heads of lower masts = topmasts x from 0.9 to 0.97

IMG_3868.jpg.adca0ae982f6f34556d5e75f3061ad31.jpg

Now, I have the line of flotation (roughly) and the extreme breadth.  But does the bottom measurement start right at the bottom of the mast, where it goes into it's support, right on the keel (marked A below)? Or does it start at the deck (marked B)?

Does the top measurement stop at the bottom of the head (C), or at the top of the head (D)?

IMG_3870_1.jpg.3cfa561cb79bf48714af30fc957bade0.jpg

I do apologise for how simple this must seem to some of you, but this is my first build and I'm super confused.  I'd appreciate any help or advice.  When I draw it all out in CAD, the different versions of the measurements make a huge difference in what the rig looks like.  Strangely, irrespective of where I choose to measure, I can't quite get the CAD drawing to look quite like the sail plans in the book.  I'm tempted to just scale off of one the drawings that look good (like this one, of Pictou/Herald) and disregard the tables and formulae and ratios.  I'm fairly certain that that way lies some gross errors though.

Edited by Leopard

‘I looked into a book on trigonometry once,’ said Martin. ‘It was called A Simple Way of Resolving All Triangles, invaluable for Gentlemen, Surveyors, and Mariners, carefully adapted for the Meanest Understanding: but I had to give it up. Some understandings are even meaner than the author imagined, it appears.’

Usually the mast length is specified as overall length. This is from step above the keel to the top of the tenon for its cap. The hounds, however, are at point 'C' on your example.

Re-drawn plans (as above) or reconstructed plans can be misleading, though.

Edited by druxey