Identification of possibly scratch-built Mediterranean fishing boat?

Richj

I am looking for assistance identifying a ship model which I am considering purchasing from a friend. I have no prior knowledge on this subject but this model interests me as unlike most, the masts and sails are not erected. Ideally i would like to know approx age of model, age and type of ship and guide as to whether this is a desirable model or just a home built example which would only really be of value to the builder? 

EDIT: See photos in gallery.

Hi!

First, read this topic. Then, if you still have questions, post them with some photos of your model. Without photos, identifying your model will be pretty much impossible.

Regards,

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix, Hawker Hurricane

Rich, I had a look at your photos. The model appears to be a large-scale, scratch-built model of some type of fishing boat. The sharply forward-raked single mast carries a single lateen-rigged yard. This type of vessel, with many variations in form, was common across all parts of the Mediterranean Sea. The type was even used elsewhere, e.g. San Francisco, California, by fishermen who immigrated to this country. Some of our members are more knowledgeable about the type; I have edited your post title to attract more hits. As far as value goes, I will only say that in general warships tend to attract more buyers and therefore command higher prices than working boats, but a true valuation of your model, which looks very nice and appears likely to be a one-off, can only be made by an appraiser at a maritime art gallery.

Cheers!

Chris Coyle
Greer, South Carolina

When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
- Tuco

Current builds: Brigantine Phoenix, Hawker Hurricane